No matches

Team Aster go out of the competition at Beyond Epic: China in the bottom two places after two losses in a row in the GSL group stage.

Aster got seeded in Group A alongside CDEC Gaming, PSG.LGD and Sparking Arrow Gaming (SAG). The latter is the big surprise of the tournament so far, taking the top seed in the group and being the first to secure a spot into the playoffs stage.

SAG were also the first to defeat Aster in the opening series of the tournament, with two fast paced games revolved around Anti-Mage and Templar Assassin. The early defeat led straight to an elimination match for Aster, who were pitted against one of the strongest teams in the Chinese region, PSG.LGD.

The elimination series started with and out draft from PSG.LGD, who forced Aster to adjust on the fly and go with a last pick Gyrocopter in hopes that they will be able to survive the push pressure. Unfortunately for Aster, it didn’t work and PSG.LGD took full control of the map with their Lycan-Queen of Pain-Beastmaster trio core very fast. The second game was somewhat more balanced with Aster fighting with a Morphling in the frontlines. However, they weren’t able to shutdown Yang “Chalice”‘ Shenyi Troll Warlord, and the longer the game went, the harder it was for them to prevail in team fights.

While Aster are the first to go out in the China leg of Beyond Epic, PSG.LGD are not completely safe yet. They have another battle for survival, with CDEC Gaming this time around, scheduled for June 25 at 10:00 CEST/16:00 PST.

In the meantime, Group B will play its first elimination match tomorrow, June 24 at 08:00 CEST/14:00 PST, when Vici Gaming will play for survival against EHOME.Immortal.


Related:

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter