No matches

The BLAST Premier Championship is undergoing some changes in 2021. The event will see the qualification process overhauled for the Showdown events with the addition of Asia and Oceania. The new system will help to determine which teams will make their way to the World Final.

2021 will follow suit to 2020 with the circuit being split into Spring and Fall seasons. Each season will have three parts with the first being Groups, then the Showdown, and then the Finals. Groups were previously known as Series.

In terms of making it to the World Final, only the Fall and Spring champions will earn a spot directly to the event while the remaining six teams will be determined by a leaderboard that includes results from ESL Pro League seasons 13 and 14, Flashpoint 3 and 4, the Fall Major and the Race to the World Final leaderboard.

“Next year’s format will be the most inclusive in the Counter-Strike scene and offer teams from regions all over the world an opportunity to compete in our highly-anticipated events, thanks to our new qualifying series,” said BLAST CEO Douek.

You can find the full 2021 schedule below:

Spring Groups – $150,000 (February 4-14)
Spring Showdown – $162,500 (April 13-18)
Spring Final – $425,000 (June 15-20)
Fall Groups – $150,000 (August 26-September 5)
Fall Showdown – $162,500 (October 12-17)
Fall Final – $425,000 (November 23-28)
World Final – $1,000,000 (December 14-19)

Related article:

Want to discuss this and other news with the author? Check him out live on Twitch where you can ask questions!

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter